Short musing

I was walking home today from the train station, when I realised something that shocked me: There are kids in the early years of primary school now that were born after September 11. An event which changed much of the world, and which I consider possibly the most significant thing to happen to the West in my life time, certainly of the past decade. There’s kids starting school now who have known nothing else except the aftermath of 9/11. I can clearly remember a time before words like ‘terrorists’, ‘national security’, and ‘war on terror’ were readily in papers, across the Internet, and the headlines on news.

And now, the next generation of people are coming along where the ‘war on terror’ has been running for their whole life, where spending on ‘national security’ and a war rivals that of education, and where the label of ‘terrorist’ seems to be synonymous with ‘Muslim’ or ‘Islam’.

There’s probably a much larger post here (and one I have thought about doing in the past), but once again I don’t have enough time to write anything substantial just yet. I will probably get around to writing it before I go on my holiday, because I would like to write a ‘sequel’ to it after visiting New York. I’ll get to it eventually.

Thomas.

2 thoughts on “Short musing

  1. Yes, as it came as a shock to me that my Chinese coachee was born after Tiananmen. But then, of course, I am still getting my head around the fact that there are people out there who, unlike me, can’t remember King George VI! 😉

    Seriously though, a generation growing up with no knowledge of a world before the “War on Terror” really does give pause for thought. I suspect I won’t live to see its end…

Leave a Reply

