Confirmation of Timothy Geithner

Timothy Geithner was voted into the Secretary of the Treasury position overnight by a floor vote in the US Senate. Probably the most important position to fill at the moment, it may end up being the most partisan vote on any nomination as well. The final numbers ended up being 60-34 – well off from the 77-22 split I suggested. There were 3 Democrats who broke rank with the party and voted against Geithner. I guarentee you that President Obama and Senate Majority Leader Harry Reid have committed those names to memory. Majority of the no votes were Republican, but there were some who crossed the floor to vote with the Democrats.

Through this appointment, the Federal Reserve Bank of New York (again, the eyes and ears of the Federal Reserve on Wall Street’s going on’s). It willl likely be William Dudley. Dudley used to work at Goldman Sachs as an economist, and has recently been running the extremely important market desk at the Federal Reserve of New York in the recent past. The confirmation also means that the Obama administration can actually get to work on their stimulus package – all $1 trillion plus of it. If you watched that video that I linked to yesterday, the first of the weekly presidential addresses through YouTube, you will be able to account for a lot of that spending. The rest will be going to struggling companies. But it’s certainly a confirmation in the right direction.

I’ve been able to track down the voting records of the Finance Committee and the Senate. First the Finance Committee. The Committee consists of the following Senators:

Majority (Democrats):

  • Max Baucus, Chairman, Montana
  • Jay Rockefeller, West Virginia
  • Kent Conrad, North Dakota
  • Jeff Bingaman, New Mexico
  • John Kerry, Massachusetts
  • Blanche Lincoln, Arkansas
  • Ron Wyden, Oregon
  • Charles Schumer, New York
  • Debbie Stabenow, Michigan
  • Maria Cantwell, Washington
  • Bill Nelson, Florida
  • Robert Menendez, New Jersey
  • Thomas Carper, Delaware

Minority (Republicans):

  • Chuck Grassley, Ranking Member, Iowa
  • Orrin Hatch, Utah
  • Olympia Snowe, Maine
  • Jon Kyl, Arizona
  • Jim Bunning, Kentucky
  • Mike Crapo, Idaho
  • Pat Roberts, Kansas
  • John Ensign, Nevada
  • Mike Enzi, Wyoming
  • John Cornyn, Texas

As we know, the vote was an 18-5 split. Those Senators who voted against Geithner were Kyl, Bunning, Enzi, Grassley and Roberts – obviously all Republicans.

As for the floor vote in the Senate, the shorter of the lists is the votes against. A reminder: There were 34 votes against Geithner, of which 3 were Democrats and one was an Independant (who caucuses with the Democrats – so effectively 4 Democrats). The names were (and I highlighted some important ones):

  • Lamar Alexander, Republican, Tennessee
  • John Barrasso, Republican, Wyoming
  • Robert Bennett, Republican, Utah
  • Sam Brownback, Republican, Kansas
  • Jim Bunning, Republican, Kentucky
  • Richard Burr, Republican, North Carolina
  • Robert Byrd, Democrat, West Virginia
  • Saxby Chambliss, Republican, Georgia
  • Tom Coburn, Republican, Oklahoma
  • Thad Cochran, Republican, Mississippi
  • Susan Collins, Republican, Maine
  • Jim DeMint, Republican, South Carolina
  • Michael Enzi, Republican, Wyoming
  • Russ Feingold, Democrat, Wisconsin (I really would be interested in Feingold’s reasoning here. I always though him a sensible man before a party man)
  • Chuck Grassley, Republican, Iowa
  • Tom Harkin, Democrat, Iowa
  • Kay Bailey Hutchison, Republican, Texas
  • James Inhofe, Republican, Oklahoma
  • Johnny Isakson, Republican, Georgia
  • Jon Kyl, Republican, Arizona
  • Richard Lugar, Republican, Indiana
  • Mel Martinez, Republican, Florida (retiring his seat at the end of his term)
  • John McCain, Republican, Arizona
  • Mitch McConnell, Republican, Kentucky
  • Lisa Murkowski, Republican, Alaska (vulnerable to a primary challenge by Sarah Palin in 2010)
  • James Risch, Republican, Idaho
  • Pat Roberts, Republican, Kansas
  • Bernie Sanders, Independent, Vermont
  • Jeff Sessions, Republican, Alabama
  • Arlen Specter, Republican, Pennsylvania (vulnerable in 2010if Geithner is successful with Obama, the vote could be used against him)
  • John Thune, Republican, South Dakota
  • David Vitter, Republican, Louisiana
  • Roger Wicker, Republican, Mississippi

That list only has 33 names. There was an error in some of the reports going around and now we have to wait for the roll call to come out tomorrow to find out who the final person was.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s