Coincidence

After Mr. Rabbit, on his blog, informing his readers about an exchange program that sends qualified teachers to Korea, I received, from the Faculty of Education and Social Work at the University of Sydney, an email offering undergraduates the chance to teach for 3 weeks in Korea in January next year. It is fully funded – other than your own spending money – which also means it is limited in opportunities. I’ll likely apply, if only because I would like to flesh out my ‘CV’ before I go to the D.E.T. begging them for a job. I suspect picking up golf balls, washing carts, and pouring beers aren’t exactly the sought after skills in teaching.

As an aside, I have worked for 17 days consecutive if my prac. is to be considered work (and, from the performance of some teachers, I would most definitely be working). I am enjoying telling people that I am working 8 days a week – 5 at school, 3 at the golf course (Friday, Saturday, Sunday). I am looking forward to a day off – not just a night out. But there will be a night out at the end of this – so Sojourn Group be warned. Not this weekend, but the one after I hope to do something.

Thomas.

5 thoughts on “Coincidence

  1. I suspect picking up golf balls, washing carts, and pouring beers aren’t exactly the sought after skills in teaching.

    One school I was at when not much older than Mr Rabbit is now there were some, including the principal, who would rather have valued those particular skills. That year was my very brief golf career… 😉

  2. “and, from the performance of some teachers, I would most definitely be working”

    I was working in the staffroom today, wondering why so many of my teachers were just sitting there, gossiping and eating. Staffrooms are often unproductive places.

  3. Oh Omby, you slave driver. That said you have a point. There’s more than one lazy teacher being paid 20k more than me just because they’re at the top of the scale…

Leave a Reply

