End of one thing

Prac. ended today. A great, really great, experience. I went into it with some questions, wondering if my last prac. experience (not a completely positive one) was a reflection of me as a teacher or me as a new teacher. With the resounding success that this prac. was, I have no questions about wanting to be a teacher now.

I was never one of those people that had ‘that’ calling to the profession. If you’ve done an education degree, as 90% of the people who read this blog have, you will know the type of person:

“I’ve always wanted to be a teacher. For as long as I can remember.”

“I really want to change the world, and I’m going to do it as a teacher!”

“I love teaching” I’m so good, I’m so great. I’m going to teach anyone anything, and anywhere!”

Yeah, those annoying people. I was never one. I didn’t fall into education by accident, but it was always my second choice. I realised quickly that it should have been my first choice. But now I’m 100% behind my decision.

Even the bad and low points in this prac. – the same sort of things that really got me down on the last prac. – were important learning experiences. Dare I say it, they were even enjoyable in a twisted sort of way.

And the staff that I was working under, and alongside, were truly great. I was at Moorebank High, and the English faculty there is seriously talented. It’s in the process of going over to partially selective, so keep an eye on it in the future.

Come Monday, I will have worked for 41 days straight. A new personal best. But, to be honest, prac. hardly felt like work sometimes.

Thomas.

6 thoughts on “End of one thing

  1. Well done! It must feel good to finally complete your prac experience! Some of us were so talented that we were never required to complete a legitimate prac…

    Remember that when you start teaching after you graduate, you actually get paid to do it as well!

    Ombudsman

  2. Well done.

    Meanwhile there is a certain Head of History who looks forward to hearing how that research thing stands…

  3. Ombudsman, yes, I do look forward to getting paid for it! MBHS staff, when I told them that I’d be able to get a casual number at the end of this year, and teach casual if I wanted through next year (while I’m at uni), they were over the moon and talked me into doing it. So I might get paid to do it sooner rather than later.

    As for your comment about not having to do prac. proper – you’re the Ombudsman! Of course you wouldn’t have to!

    Neil, I told Con, last time I spoke to him, that interviews would be through June/July. If you gathered from him that he would like to hear from me just for the sake of it, I’d be happy to hear from him. Otherwise, I have to finalise some paperwork through this week, with an aim to get that interview in late June/early July.

  4. Well Done Thomas. Prac is a right of passage where many mistakes can be made a learned from without the pressure of your own class (for example, saying “who doesn’t have one of these?” rather than “put your hand up if you need one of these”). From the sounds of it you are well on your way to a fine teaching career in the footsteps of many of your readers.

  5. I’d like to add my congratulations. Together, we will one day run the DET. Well, mainly Mark, but we can help…

Leave a Reply

